The Musings Of An Opinionated Sod [Help Me Grow!]

No, it’s not Queen, nor is it Def Leppard … it’s Chopin’s Nocturne op.9 No.2.

I love it.

I love the melody.

The gentleness.

The emotion.

Whenever I listen to it I find my eyes close and my head gently swinging side-to-side … literally lost in the music.

It makes me wish I could play the piano more than any other piece of music … even Van Halen’s Jump.

But what gets me is this piece of music once never existed.

It was just something that sat inside Chopin’s head … waiting for him to let it out.

Did it come quickly or slowly?

Did it have many iterations or could he hear it before he played it?

I remember Paul McCartney being interviewed about his song ‘Yesterday’ – apparently the most recorded song in history – and he said he wrote it aged 15 on his bed, in his…

View original post 423 more words