Books, tea, and cats.

jk-rowling-harry-potter

This last semester I took a course about the Harry Potter Series at university, it was called “Cultural Studies in English: The Harry Potter Series”. First of all we focused on general theory about cultural studies and after that we started talking about Harry Potter. In this course we dealt with topics as interesting as the construction of the hero, gender issues, racism in the wizarding world, social prejudice, … and we even dealt with fan-fiction and the copyright issues. I have to say that I consider this course one of the most interest ones that I have taken in my degree (at least while I studied in Barcelona).

One of the assignments that we had to do was writing about our experience reading the series for the first time (in most cases it was when we were around 7-9 years old but not all of us shared the same…

View original post 219 more words