Bright & Beautiful

Artists textiles Just a few more days to visit the Artists Textiles exhibition at London’s Fashion and Textile Museum.  It was really worth the trip, a unique opportunity to see many textiles from artists not usually renowned for working in this medium.  I hadn’t appreciated that they did so as a desire to make their work more relevant to the lives of ordinary people.  My favourites included Salvador Dali’s Ballerina where there was so much energy in the design and a piece by Gerald Wilde for the V&A’s 1946 exhibition,   Britain Can Make It.   I was disproportionately excited by the print, Bark Cloth by Paolozzi and Henderson, it was the fabric of the curtains in the hall of Penwith Sixth Form College in Penzance.  I couldn’t forget those heavy black drapes imprinted with white clocks and bicycles.  They transfixed me through exams and orchestra practice!

You may notice on my…

View original post 63 more words

